FIFA world cup 2022: Argentina defeated France by 4-2 in penalty shootout after the match drawn 3-3 in the normal time

FIFA World Cup 2022: Messi’s Argentina clinched their 3rd World Cup trophy from six final appearances in history, seeing off France 4–2 on penalties (3–3 after extra time) to win the biggest prize in men’s football at the  at Lusail Stadium in Lusail, Qatar. It had won two in 1978 and 1986 under Diego Maradona. Lionel Messi had come close to winning in 2014 but La Albiceleste lost the final 0-1 to Germany. The only similarity from Messi’s 2014 campaign in Qatar was his Golden Ball award for Player of the Tournament award. He became the first player to win two World Cup Golden Balls.

2022 FIFA World Cup Awards:
Top 4 team Rankings: Argentina (Winner), France (2nd), Croatia (3rd) and Morocco (4th)
Golden Boot Award: Kylian Mbappe (France); (8 Goals)
Golden Ball Award: Lionel Messi (Argentina); (7 goals and registering 3 assists)
Golden Glove Award: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina)
FIFA Young Player Award: Enzo Fernandez
FIFA Fair Play Award: England
Silver Boot Award: Lionel Messi
Bronze Boot Award: Olivier Giroud (France)
Silver Ball Award: Kylian Mbappe
Bronze Ball Award: Luka Modric (Croatia)